Soothing Sunday: Tom Odell, Conner Youngblood, Keaton Henson, Daughter, Sea Oleena

Today I woke up and felt like arse.

Currently I’m sat in an old lady chair with a hot water bottle on my back, which is a universal sign that things are not going well. My head hurts, my throat hurts, my back hurts, and according to Google this all points to me being pregnant. So… needless to say, I could do with some cheering up.

Most people like to cheer themselves up with some happy tunes, like that new Taylor Swift song or that old Taylor Swift song; but personally I find the only way to fight sadness is through sadness.

Nothing gets you out of a frump quicker than by putting on something with a weepy string instrumental and pretending your life problems stem from something deep and meaningful, when in fact it all boils down to you being a flu-baby.

With this in mind, here are just a few of the songs I’m listening to while staring out of my window – which, by the way, is pretty fucking hard when you have a skylight.

Tom Odell – Hold Me

Not as sad as some of his other songs, but after listening to ‘another love’ on repeat for weeks on end I’ve come to associate his voice with bitter break-ups and deep, deep, deep emotions about love.

Conner Youngblood – Vegas

Heard this song on the radio and it made me feel like I was a character in a TV show that was just coming to terms with her life as she drives off  into the sunset and out of Vegas. Do you know what I mean?

Keaton Henson – Sweetheart, what have you done to us?

Someone in the comments of this video refered to Keaton as a ‘melancholy pirate’ – nailed it.

Daughter – Run

I’ve been told that Daughter’s new album has got some music blogs complaining about the songs being too ‘depressing’. Well HELLO! Daughter is all about melancholy, no one puts on a Daughter song to feel GOOD. Hence why this song is on my list.

Sea Oleena – Untitled

This song came out on youtube in 2011, so guess I lose some hipster points. But whether it’s old or not it’s still sad and makes me have the feelz.

Leave a Reply

